Tarot questions? Enter here the keyword or query.

Tarot Fool's Journey

The tarot Fool's journey is a tale human progress and individual growth.

The Major Arcana represent the milestones in one's life, the major changes and the important events. 

The trump cards or Major Arcana are twenty-two cards, numbered from zero to twenty-one. They represent a progression, the meaning of each one of them coming from the previous and leading to the next.

Try this little experiment, place the cards in order on a table and carefully observe them.

The characters, situations and the meaning of each tarot card seem to tell us a story that can be read as the tale of the Fool’s voyage. This voyage represents also the course of human development or individual growth. Let’s read the story the tarots are telling us and examine in detail the meaning of each tarot card.

Major Arcana Meaning and Deck Structure

Some tarot scholars recon that the twenty-two trumps can be divided into three equal parts of seven cards each, with the Fool, the number zero, in an independent position. 

The number seven itself has a strong symbolic value: it is not a coincidence that we find seven days in a week, seven chakras, seven hills and kings of Rome, seven Wonders of the ancient world and so on.

The First Seven Steps of the Tarot Fool's Journey

If we spread the twenty-one tarot trumps on three lines, we can group them as symbols related to three different categories of experiences.

The first line with the Magician, the High Priestess, the Empress, the Emperor, the Hierophant, the Lovers and the Chariot, refers to the major characters of the archetypal theater. These Major Arcana meanings deal with the basic learning of living in society.

Next Seven Stages of the Tarot Fool's Journey

The second line with the Strength, the Hermit, the Wheel of Fortune, the Justice, the Hanged Man, Death and Temperance, deals with the Earthly Reality and the law of society we must confront as soon as we emerge into the world. These cards act as mediators between the realm of main archetypes above and the realm of self-realization below.

Last Seven Stages of the Tarot Fool's Journey

The last line with the Devil, the Tower, the Moon, the Sun, the Judgement and the World is about confronting the great forces of life, spiritual development and self-realization. 

It is interesting to note the  imagery of the first cards in each line: the Magician, the Strength and the Devil.

They are all cards that speak of power. Both the Magician and the Strength have an infinity sign on their heads and the Devil bears a pentacle. Also, the posture of the Devil reflects faithfully that of the Magician.

In the same way, if we observe closely, we can discover more intriguing correspondences between the Major Arcana meanings of the three cards on each vertical line.

The Tarot Fool's Journey Meaning Card by Card 

0 The Fool

This card represents a young men at the beginning of his travel through life. He is innocent and confident, the world is full of promises. He is totally unaware of the dangers and faces life armed only with his courage and naive ignorance. The Fool tarot card meaning is the first step in this voyage.

1 The Magician

The fool has learned to exercise his abilities and expertly uses his devices to manipulate the world to his advantage.

2 The High Priestess

The high Priestess represents what is missing in the magician’s material world, the spiritual side of things that is veiled to the uninitiated.

3 The Empress

The fool is now ready to acknowledge his archetypal parents. The Empress is the mother earth, she is nurturing and the source of all the riches and unconditional love.

4 The Emperor

The Emperor is the counterpart of the Mother, the Father. This card represents authority, power, order and reason but also protection and love for those who follow the Father’s rules.

5 The Hierophant or Pope

The Pope is the guardian of wisdom and religious teaching. With him the fool learns about moral values and traditions.

6 The Lovers

The voyager is now able to relate to another individual. He will learn about duality in a romantic relation or in friendship. He discovers attraction, sex, temptations and choices.

7 The Chariot

With duality comes conflict. Our hero learns to manage and control opposite forces that move in different directions.

8 Strength

Our hero has now a chance to learn about his capabilities and becomes confident in his own strength and powers.

9 The Hermit

Meditating and reflecting in solitude helps the voyager to get to know himself and control his energy.

10 The Wheel of Fortune

Not everything is under our control and the fool here comes to terms with the ups and downs of life.

11 The Justice

Although life is often unpredictable, a form of justice is detectable in the events of life. All our actions have consequences, this is the lesson for the fool at this stage.

12 The Hanged Man

The symbol of this card is a man suspended upside down. This picture represents a moment of suspension and the need to see things from a different perspective.

13 Death

This card reflects a transition, an important moment of transformation and the need to abandon our old self in order to learn something new.

14 Temperance

The fool has met death, the ultimate change. He has learned to see the world from a new perspective with equanimity and moderation.

15 The Devil

The Devil is an impediment that stops the voyager’s journey. The fool must face and conquer his personal demons that limit his development.

16 The Tower

A lightning strikes without warning the safe refuge the Fool built for himself. The destruction leaves the fool homeless but also free from his ties. Our voyager learns about abrupt life changes and freedom from the unnecessary.

17 The Star

The Fool is now free and ready for new hope, the stars show him a new path to enlightenment.

18 The Moon

The light of the moon is misleading, it shows things under a deceptive light. The Fool must learn to move among illusion and hidden influences.

19 The Sun

Finally after a long night, the Fool sees the light of the day. Warm, vital forces reinvigorate the voyager and he feels he is finally close to his achievement.

20 The Judgment

The trumpets of the Judgment announce resurrection and rebirth for the Fool at the end of his journey.

21 The World

This card symbolizes the achievement, the reaching of the Fool’s goal and the end of a difficult but propitious travel.

Back to the Home Page 

Back to Major Arcana Meanings

Free Tarot Deck!

Subscribe to my free newsletter and get a tarot deck!